
Permanent residency  

For purposes of the Warren County Occupancy Tax administered by the Warren County Treasurer (other 

than New York State’s 7¼% tax), an occupant of a room or rooms in a hotel for at least 30 consecutive 

days is considered a permanent resident with regard to the period of such occupancy. For purposes of 

New York State’s 7¼% tax, it is noted that a different period of time must elapse before a person is 

considered a permanent resident for Sales Tax administered by the State Tax Department, and you are 

advised to refer to state law and New York State Tax Department bulletins concerning the period of time 

that must elapse before a person is considered a permanent resident.  

Determining whether a business qualifies as a permanent resident, under the Warren County Occupancy 

Tax Law  

Follow State practices - see TSB-M-03(1)S from New York State Department of Taxation and 

Finance website at www.tax.ny.gov 

Hotel/Motel operators must collect and remit occupancy tax  

Follow State practices - see TSB-M-03(1)S from New York State Department of Taxation and 

Finance website at www.tax.ny.gov, except substitute 30 days for 90 days  

Refunds for permanent residents  

Follow State practices - see TSB-M-03(1)S from New York State Department of Taxation and 

Finance website at www.tax.ny.gov, except substitute 30 days for 90 days  

Responsibility of hotel operators  

Follow State practices - see TSB-M-03(1)S from New York State Department of Taxation and 

Finance website at www.tax.ny.gov 

 


