

RESOLUTION NO. 111 OF 2015

Resolution introduced by Supervisors Taylor, Monroe, Wood, Beaty and Strough

SUPPORTING THE APPLICATION OF AMY, HILLARY AND KEELEY PECKHAM (ETAIN) TO OBTAIN ONE OF FIVE LICENSES TO BE ISSUED BY NEW YORK STATE TO BUILD A MEDICAL MARIJUANA OPERATION IN THE TOWN OF CHESTER

WHEREAS, Ed Bartholomew, President of the Economic Development Corporation, Warren County, is requesting that the Warren County Board of Supervisors support the application of Amy, Hillary and Keeley Peckham (Etain) ("Applicants") to obtain one of five licenses to be issued by New York State to construct and operate a medical marijuana operation in the Town of Chester, and

WHEREAS, Mr. Bartholomew has advised the County's Economic Growth and Development Committee that the marijuana grown at the operation would be processed into a cannabis oil and made into pills and tinctures, and would not be sold in smokable form or as food, and that there are regulations governing security of medical marijuana facilities, and the proposed facility would create twenty-five (25) to thirty (30) jobs in the Town of Chester, and

WHEREAS, Mr. Bartholomew further advised that there is a seven percent (7%) excise tax on the sale of medical marijuana and twenty-two and one-half percent (22.5%) of that tax would be allocated to Warren County, and if one or more dispensaries were opened to sell medical marijuana it would result in additional tax revenue for Warren County, now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Warren County Board of Supervisors expresses support for the application of Amy, Hillary and Keeley Peckham (Etain) ("Applicants") to obtain one of five licenses to be issued by New York State to construct and operate a medical marijuana operation in the Town of Chester, and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Clerk of the Board of Supervisors be, and hereby is, authorized and directed to forward copies of this resolution to the New York State Department of Health, Governor Andrew M. Cuomo, Senator Charles E. Schumer, Senator Kirsten E. Gillibrand, Congresswoman Elise Stefanik, Senator Elizabeth O'C. Little, and Assemblyman Daniel G. Stec.