

Resolution introduced by Supervisors Monroe, Bentley, Thomas, Girard, Sokol, Wood and Frasier

URGING ALL COUNTIES TO UNITE TO BRING ABOUT REAL AND MEANINGFUL MANDATE RELIEF IN NEW YORK STATE

WHEREAS, at the 2012 New York State Association of Counties (NYSAC) Legislative Conference in Albany, the membership of NYSAC adopted 28 separate and distinct Resolutions concerning the 2012/13 State Budget and its impact on County Agencies, and

WHEREAS, New York State mandates are the number one barrier to providing desperately needed real property tax relief to New Yorkers, and

WHEREAS, there are nine New York State mandates that consume more than 90 percent of the County property tax levy statewide, and that amount grows when the many other State mandates are included, and

WHEREAS, there is a need for counties to unify behind a common message to preserve local service and delivery and stabilize local property taxes, and

WHEREAS, Warren County is desirous of assisting NYSAC and all counties to continue efforts to inform and educate the public of the impact on local service delivery and property taxes should the State not provide significant and meaningful mandate relief in 2012; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Warren County Board of Supervisors hereby unites with NYSAC and the Intercounty Legislative Committee of the Adirondacks to urge the enactment of significant and meaningful mandate relief measures by the New York State legislature, the Governor, and all Executive Agencies by consistently communicating with the Governor, all counties in New York State and to our State Legislators detailing the local impact of state mandates on local service delivery and property taxes, and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Clerk of the Board of Supervisors be, and hereby is, authorized and directed

RESOLUTION NO. 187 OF 2012

PAGE 2 OF 2

to forward copies of this resolution to the New York State Association of Counties; Governor Andrew M. Cuomo; New York State Senate Leader Dean Skelos; New York State Assembly Leader Sheldon Silver; Senator Elizabeth O'C. Little; and Assemblywoman Teresa Sayward.