Marren County Board of Supervisors

RESOLUTION No. 523 OF 2011

Resolution introduced by Supervisors Thomas, Taylor, Goodspeed, Belden, Monroe, VanNess, Kenny, Merlino and Conover

RESOLUTION IN HONOR OF THE 50th Anniversary of SUNY Adirondack

WHEREAS, on September 17, 2011 Adirondack Community College (SUNY Adirondack; the College) will start observances marking the 50th Anniversary of SUNY Adirondack's first class of students beginning in the fall semester of 1961 and graduating in the spring of 1963, and

WHEREAS, as early as 1956, Merritt E. Scoville, GE's Manager for Engineering of Capacitors in Fort Edward and Hudson Falls, publicly addressed the need for a two-year college for the Greater Glens Falls Region, and

WHEREAS, by 1959, under a resolution passed by Warren County, Mr. Scoville and Lake Luzerne District School Superintendent Lynn F. Perkins organized an Action Committee of community leaders from Warren County and Washington County for that purpose, namely: Mr. Perkins, Mr. Scoville, Dr. Henry T. Moore, Mr. Robert G. Swan, Mr. Alexander W. Miller, Mr. James H. Minnick, Mrs. Hesper Liddle, Mr. Douglass B. Roberts, Mr. Earl Persons, Mr. John Wertime, Mr. Charles A. Wright, Mr. Homer Dearlove, and Mr. Theodore Buckley, and

WHEREAS, Warren County, lacking population and tax base needed to sponsor a community college alone, sought partnership from Washington and Saratoga Counties, and

WHEREAS, Washington County accepted Warren County's invitation and agreed to become a cosponsor of the college, and

WHEREAS, from 1958 to 1960 the Action Committee, through public speeches, surveys, brochures, newspaper and radio, successfully moved the public to favor the idea, thereby leading the two counties to resolve in joint session in April 1960 "to join in forming a community college pursuant to the provisions of Article 126 of the Education Law", and

WHEREAS, the College was approved by State University of New York in June 1960 and a ninemember Board of Trustees was established, with five Trustees elected by the Boards of Supervisors and four appointed by the Governor, and

WHEREAS, the first Board meeting was held October 11, 1960, presided over by Mr. Alexander W. Miller, Chair, and Mr. Merritt E. Scoville, Secretary, with these Trustees convening:

From Warren County

H. Hudson Barton

Mr. Earle W. Brooker

Mr. John J. Goetz

Mr. Alexander W. Miller

Mr. Merritt E. Scoville

From Washington County

Mr. R. Roy Allen

Mr. Theodore Buckley

Mr. Homer Dearlove

Mr. Charles A. Wright

, and

WHEREAS, in February 1961 the Board selected the name "Adirondack Community College" for the College and hired as its first President, Dr. Charles E. Eisenhart, and

WHEREAS, President Eisenhart hired distinguished faculty, administrators and staff, who filled the two temporary facilities leased by the College, its classrooms and offices, today the Washington County Municipal Center Annex in Fort Edward, and the gym facilities in the old Hudson Falls High School, and

WHEREAS, classes began in September 1961 with an enrollment of 215 full time and 120 part time students and a convocation led by President Eisenhart on September 17, 1961, and

WHEREAS, the College sought a permanent home and in 1964 was given by the Glens Falls Insurance Company 141 acres of land in the Town of Queensbury, Warren County, upon which it constructed seven buildings, now known as Warren Hall, Washington Hall, Eisenhart Hall, the Student Center, the Gymnasium, the Auditorium and the Science building, and began classes at the new campus in 1967, and

WHEREAS, since that time it has added to that Campus the following: Dearlove Hall (1986) Scoville Learning Center (1997), Bryan Hall (2009), the Daycare Center (1988), the Randles Conference Center attached to the Student Center (1982), and 12 acres of open land donated by the Michaels Group in 2010, and

WHEREAS, in 1995, the College started its Saratoga County Extension Center at McGregor Village in the Town of Wilton, Saratoga County, and has now approved construction of a new 30,000 square foot Extension Center on that site, and

WHEREAS, in 2009 the College did build on campus the J. Buckley Bryan, Jr. ACC '87, '94 Regional Higher Education Center to accommodate its upper level collegiate partners in offering baccalaureate and masters level programs, thereby becoming the first community college to do so in all the SUNY system, and

WHEREAS, the College, seeking to expand public access to the quality education it offers, is moving forward to build student housing on the Queensbury campus, and

WHEREAS, the College, recognizing the unique geographic and economic qualities of a region combining the agriculture, manufacturing and tourism industries, has introduced new programming targeted at them, such as Adventure Sports, the Tech Valley track, an Entrepreneurship program and, most recently, the Agribusiness track being offered at Salem Central High School in Washington County, and

WHEREAS, College enrollment has grown to over 4,000 students, who are provided with an excellent educational experience through its faculty, staff and administrators, and

WHEREAS, on this occasion of SUNY Adirondack's 50th Anniversary, Warren County takes great pride in its felicitous co-sponsorship with Washington County of the College and great pride in the opportunities SUNY Adirondack provides our citizens and our industries, now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that the Warren County Board of Supervisors does wholeheartedly join with its co-sponsor Washington County in congratulating SUNY Adirondack upon this auspicious occasion and declares September 17, 2011 as "SUNY Adirondack Day" throughout the County.